Sakura Saku

Note: Sorry that this post is a little behind schedule! You may notice that I’m back to using the wordpress.com URL for my website, and if you go to http://www.besudesuabroad.com you are taken to an error page… well, that’s because I’m currently constructing a self-hosted website! It should be ready fairly soon (fingers crossed) but in the mean time I do apologize for any broken links or things looking kinda funny. :)

Now… onto today’s post!

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Upon returning from Japan earlier this month, the question I received the most was “did you get to see the cherry blossoms?” followed quickly by asking if they could see some pictures.

Cherry blossoms, known as sakura in Japan, are beautiful, yet symbolic flowers. Because the blossoms are so fragile and do not last long, they represent the beauty of transience or mono no aware in Japanese termsIt is this same transience that makes it hard for tourists to time their trips right if they want to see the blossoms.

We too were worried that we would be too late this year, but we got lucky! Although we had mostly missed the main variety of yoshino cherry blossoms (Japan has over 200 cultivars of sakura), I still got to see my two favorite kinds called yaezakura and ichiyo. 

I had already posted a photo of some sakura from Ueno Park in my Foto Friday last week, but since I’ve had people still asking, I thought I’d share more here for you today.

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Sakura Saku

Besudesu Abroad

IMG_4843web

IMG_4847web

IMG_4849web

IMG_5203web

IMG_5242web

Which variety of sakura do you like best?

IMG_5262web

2 responses to “Sakura Saku

Leave a Reply

