There and Back Again

For those who don’t know, I finally made my dreams come true last year and traveled to Asia. I was scheduled to study abroad in Japan for my senior year of university. While it was the trip of a lifetime, I ended my trip early and came back to the States halfway through the year.

Now that I’ve graduated from college I’ve found myself right back in the place I love. I’m starting this new chapter in my life, living on my own and having my first job, while living in Hong Kong. Let’s just say not everything has been easy so far.

Since the big move [okay, and even beforehand] people have been asking me about whether I’d blog or not while abroad. While I really wanted to, and thought for sure I would, I was finding myself struggling to make time.

Waking up to leave the house at 8am only to return at sometimes 830pm, not used to working 12 long hours–or working at all [let’s face it college students are livin’ the life], I found myself usually wanting to eat and go right to sleep. Even on my seemingly precious days off I couldn’t seem to find the time. Thus far I’ve neglected too many e-mails, facebook posts and the like.

It’s been almost four months since I left the States, but I’m finally finding myself more settled in and ready to begin blogging again. No more random posts every month or the lazy Instagram photo in lieu of a real post, I’m going to stick to it–I’m going to blog.

Last time, I blogged on Tumblr while studying abroad. It consisted of photos and stories from my daily life. It was mainly to keep track of what I did when, preserve memories, and keep people back home updated on just what exactly I was doing while overseas.

This time I’m going to try something a little different. Something a little more involved. I have a lot of different plans for this blog, so we’ll see if I can make any of it successful–successful being if someone other than my family and close friends read it.

It’ll take a while to get started- as all blogs do, but I plan to be in this for the long haul.

Leave a Reply

